How did you get your start in the industry? 
After having my children and returning to the work force, I decided I wanted a change in careers.  While the Event industry was in a vibrant phase, I found there were limited places were one could obtain a formal education in the field.  However, I did find a program at NYU and took several courses to get myself set up for success in the industry!
How many years have you been in the industry? 18 years
What is your favorite thing about our industry?
The diversity of careers--you can be an internal planner, work for a venue, work as an independent planner – there are so many options.

What is the best career advice you’ve received?  Find something you love to do and then figure out how to get someone to pay you to do it. 

If you were not in this industry, what would you be doing right now? I would probably be an artist or craftsman.
Where did you grow up?  Brooklyn, NY
What is your favorite book? I don’t have any one favorite book, but I love to read.  You can always find at least 3 or 4 books on my nightstand.  My selections are diverse.  Some of my recent reads include “The girl with the pearl earring”, “Blood for Flowers”, and “Work Clean.”
What is your all-time favorite movie? The Notebook-- I still cry every time I watch it.
How long have you been a member of MPI?  10+ years
What do you love about MPI New Jersey?
Commitment to the Industry... I enjoy being a part of an organization that understands the importance of education and offers monthly opportunities for members to learn and network. 

Name: Lorraine Mariella CSEP, CMP
Occupation: Meeting and Event Manager
Planner or Supplier: Planner
Current Employer: Eventium (Founder and President)

Download the interview